Eric Ries

Eric Ries

I learned that from Eric Ries in the Power MBA

Career, founded companies & learnings by Eric Ries

Profile Eric Ries:

NationalitätCountry of birth: USA

Geburtsjahr Birth year: 1978

Icon bookPublished Books: The Lean Start up; The Startup Way, The Leaders Guide

aktueller Job Current Job: Speaker, Entrepreneur

Career:

The book The Lean Start Up is now 10 years old and has become compulsory reading for every start-up founder. The author Eric Ries started his career at the start-up There.com as a software engineer. It was there that he discovered his passion for start-ups. Four years later, he and his colleagues founded the start-up IMVU. An instant message service linked to video games. One of the investors was Steve Blank, the founding father of the Lean Start Up movement, so to speak. There, Eric Ries learned a lot about customer feedback and quick small tests to test hypotheses.

The book The Lean Start Up emerged from the experiences of the IMVU period. After several years as a speaker and consultant, Eric Ries founded another start-up – The Long Term Stock Exchange. A national stock exchange that helps companies and investors invest in long-term vision. Eric lives in San Francisco with his wife and two children.

5 Learnings from Eric Ries

1. Find your business model. The only thing you have to do as a start-up is to find a profitable and scalable business model. To do this, you use the Lean Start Up approach and test your ideas quickly and cheaply.

2. Think MVP.If you wait until you have created the perfect product, it is usually too late. Why? Because you didn’t build the product on the customer, you don’t have any more money for another product or the competition is just passing you in the Porsche. Live according to the motto: “Done is better than perfect.” Build products that reflect the core function of your solution, that’s all you need at the beginning.

3. Talk to your customers. Go out and interview your potential customers. Don’t wait until you have a finished product. Talk to people right away. Get constructive feedback and use it to build the MVP. Then talk to the customers again and adjust your MVP. And don’t be afraid that someone will steal your idea – everyone has ideas a hundred times a day. But the implementation is what matters.

4. Test as much as you can. Work with hypotheses. Test your thinking as often and as quickly as possible. Nowadays you can set up a Facebook or Google Ad within 15 minutes and receive immediate feedback.

5. Be quick. Do you remember Studi VZ, localists, etc.? Facebook devoured them all through lightning scaling. It no longer counts to be the biggest, but to be the fastest. Do not try to build strategies or systems for years at the beginning, follow the path of the customer and the turnover. So you will stay in the market much longer than the other way around.

 

LTSE LogoThe Story of the Long Term Stock Exchange

Eric Ries already complains in his book “The Lean Starup” about the short-term motivation of many start-ups. 2-5 years to make the thing big and then go for an exit. This way of thinking cannot create great visions and long-term changes.

That is why he founded the Long Term Stock Exchange (LTSE) in 2015. A national stock exchange that brings together companies and investors who want to work and invest together on long-term visions. In 2019, the LTSE was approved as a national stock exchange by the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The guidelines for being listed as a company on this exchange include the following points:

  1. Long-term focused companies should consider a broader group of stakeholders and the critical role they play in each other’s success.
  2. Companies with a long-term focus should measure their success in years and decades and prioritize long-term decisions.
  3. Companies with a long-term focus should adjust executive and board member compensation to reflect long-term performance.
  4. Boards of directors of long-term companies should deal with long-term strategies and monitor them explicitly.
  5. Long-term focused companies should get in touch with their long-term shareholders.

It has been possible to invest in listings on the stock exchange since September 2020. Companies can also be listed on the LTSE and other US stock exchanges. Well-known start-ups and companies that are listed on the LTSE belong  Strava, MIXT, molekuleair.

 

 

Here`s what you can learn from Eric Ries in the Power MBA:

Eric Ries Power MBA

Eric Ries is one of many world-class lecturers in the 11-month Power MBA continuing education program. The company has made it its business to democratize MBA courses and make them accessible to everyone. Instead of paying thousands of euros for an MBA, the Power MBA costs only € 1000. There are 15 minute lessons every day with the best lecturers from today’s entrepreneurial world. Including Eric Ries. Its modules deal with these topics:

  • Lean Startup Principles
  • Compete vs inovate
  • Road to disaster
  • Lean startup using the example of Zappos
  • Types of MVPs
  • MVPS keys and barriers

 

The life story of Eric Ries

Autor Lean Startup

Eric Ries was born in 1978. He studied computer science at Yale University. One of his lecturers was Steve Blank, who is also seen as the forefather of the Lean Start Up movement. He was a huge influence on The Lean Start Up book.

After graduating in 2001, he went to Silicon Valley and started at There.com as a software engineer. The company was working on a virtual 3D based product, but soon failed.

Then Eric joined the start-up IMVU as a co-founder. The company’s goal was to create an instant messaging service in video games. His old lecturer Steve Blank was also invested in this company. He asked all IMVU executives to complete his entrepreneurship course. It was there that Eric Blanks got to know the method of quick customer feedback. This method should lay the foundation for the book Lean Start Up.

With the help of quick small tests, they managed to learn very quickly and to continuously optimize the product. Within 6 months they created an MVP. They then raised $ 19 million in two financing rounds.

In 2008 Eric stepped down as CTO but remained with the company as a consultant. Six months later he started his next job as a risk advisor at Kleiner Perkins. During this time he started advising start-ups. Through his experience from his previous jobs, his training and consulting work, he developed the Lean Start Up approach. He shared the learnings and the system on his blog. Until he finally published the book The Lean Start Up in 2010/11.

He was then regularly invited as a speaker and lecturer and received a position as entrepreneur-in-residence at Harvard Business School. During this time he advised young and old companies on how to use the Lean Start Up approach.

He published two more books over the next few years. The Leaders Guide and The Start Up Way. Since 2015 he has mostly been involved with his company on the Long Term Stock Exchange. A national stock exchange that brings together companies and investors who want to invest in visions for the long term. Since the end of 2020 it has been possible to invest in companies on this exchange.

 

Leave a Reply

Eric Ries

Eric Ries Power MBA

Eric Ries

Das habe ich von Eric Ries im Power MBA gelernt

Werdegang, gegründete Firmen & Learnings von Eric Ries

Steckbrief Eric Ries:

Nationalität Geburtsland: USA

Geburtsjahr Geburtsjahr: 1978

Icon bookVeröffentlichte Bücher: The Lean Start up; The Startup Way, The Leaders Guide

aktueller Job Aktuelle Tätigkeit: Speaker, Unternehmer

Werdegang:

Das Buch The Lean Start Up ist mittlerweile schon 10 Jahre alt und ist zur Pflichtlektüre für jeden Start Up Gründer geworden. Der Autor Eric Ries hat seine Karriere bei dem Start Up There.com als Software Engineer gestartet. Dort entdeckte er seine Leidenschaft für Start Ups. Vier Jahre später gründete er mit seinen Kollegen das Start Up IMVU. Ein Instant Message Dienst verknüpft mit Videospielen. Einer der Investoren war Steve Blank, sozusagen der Gründungsvater der Lean Start Up Bewegung. Dort lernte Eric Ries viel über Kundenfeedback und schnelle kleine Tests, um Hypothesen zu prüfen. 

Aus den Erfahrungen der IMVU Zeit ist schließlich das Buch The Lean Start Up entstanden. Nach mehreren Jahren als Speaker und Berater gründete Eric Ries erneut ein Start Up – Die Long Term Stock Exchange. Eine nationale Wertpapierbörse, die Unternehmen und Investoren dabei hilft in langfristige Vision zu investieren. Eric lebt mit seiner Frau und zwei Kindern in San Francisco.

5 Learnings von Eric Ries

1. Finde dein Geschäftsmodell. Das einzige was du als Start up machen musst, ist es ein profitables und skalierbares Geschäftsmodell zu finden. Dazu nutzt du den Lean Start Up Ansatz und testest deine Ideen schnell und günstig.

2. Denke in MVP´s. Wenn du wartest, bis du das perfekte Produkt kreiert hast, ist es meist schon zu spät. Warum? Weil du nicht am Kunden das Produkt aufgebaut hast, du kein Geld mehr für ein weiteres Produkt hast oder die Konkurrenz gerade im Porsche an dir vorbei zieht. Lebe nach dem Motto: “Done is better than perfect.” Baue Produkte, die die Kernfunktion deiner Lösung wiedergeben, mehr braucht es am Anfang nicht.

3. Spricht mit deinen Kunden. Geh raus und befrage deine potentiellen Kunden. Warte nicht bis du ein fertiges Produkt hast. Sprich sofort mit Leuten. Hol dir konstruktives Feedback und baue daraus das erst MVP. Sprich dann erneut mit den Kunden und passe dein MVP an. Und hab auch keine Angst, dass dir jemand die Idee klaut – Ideen hat jeder 100te am Tag. Doch die Umsetzung ist es worauf es ankommt.

4. Teste so viel möglich. Arbeite mit Hypothesen. Teste deine Überlegungen so oft und so schnell es geht. In der heutigen Zeit kannst du innerhalb von 15 min eine Facebook oder Google Ad aufsetzen und sofortiges Feedback erhalten.

5. Sei schnell. Kannst du dich an Studi VZ, Lokalisten, etc. erinnern? Facebook hat sie alle durch Blitzscaling verschlungen. Es zählt nicht mehr der größte zu sein, sondern der schnellste. Versuche am Anfang nicht jahrelange Strategien oder Systeme aufzubauen, folge dem Weg des Kunden und des Umsatzes. So wirst du viel länger am Markt bleiben, als andersrum.

 

LTSE LogoDie Geschichte der Long Term Stock Exchange

Eric Ries beklagt sich schon in seinem Buch “The Lean Starup” über die kurzfristige Motivation vieler Start Ups. 2-5 Jahre das Ding groß machen und dann einen Exit hinlegen. Durch diese Denkweise können große Visionen und langfristige Veränderungen nicht entstehen. 

Deswegen gründete er im Jahr 2015 die Long Term Stock Exchange (LTSE). Eine nationale Wertpapierbörse, die Unternehmen und Investoren zusammenbringt, die gemeinsam an langfristigen Visionen arbeiten und investieren wollen. 2019 ist die LTSE als nationale Wertpapierbörse von der Securities and Exchange Commission genehmigt worden. 

Die Richtlinien um als Unternehmen an dieser Börse gelistet zu werden umfassen u.a. folgende Punkte:

  1. Langfristig fokussierte Unternehmen sollten eine breitere Gruppe von Stakeholdern und die entscheidende Rolle berücksichtigen, die sie für den Erfolg des anderen spielen. 
  2. Langfristig fokussierte Unternehmen sollten den Erfolg in Jahren und Jahrzehnten messen und langfristige Entscheidungen priorisieren. 
  3. Langfristig fokussierte Unternehmen sollten die Vergütung von Führungskräften und Verwaltungsräten an die langfristige Leistung anpassen. 
  4. Verwaltungsräte von langfristig ausgerichteten Unternehmen sollten sich mit langfristigen Strategien befassen und diese explizit überwachen. 
  5. Langfristig fokussierte Unternehmen sollten mit ihren langfristigen Aktionären in Kontakt treten.

Seit September 2020 kann in die Listungen der Börse investiert werden. Unternehmen können auch an der LTSE und anderen US Börsen gelistet sein. Zu bekannten Start Ups und Unternehmen die an der LTSE gelistet sind gehören Strava, MIXT, molekuleair.

 

 

Das kannst du von Eric Ries im Power MBA lernen:

Eric Ries Power MBA

Eric Ries ist einer von vielen weltklasse Dozenten in dem 11-monatigen Weiterbildungsprogramm Power MBA. Das Unternehmen hat es sich selbst zur Aufgabe gemacht MBA Studiengänge zu demokratisieren und für jeden zugänglich zu machen. Anstatt mehrere tausende von Euro für einen MBA zu bezahlen, kostet der Power MBA nur 1000€. Es gibt jeden Tag 15 minütige Lektionen mit den besten Dozenten aus der heutigen Unternehmerwelt. Darunter auch Eric Ries. In seinen Modulen geht es um diese Themen:

  • Lean Startup Principles
  • Compete vs inovate
  • Road to disaster
  • Lean Startup am Beispiel Zappos
  • Arten von MVP´s
  • MVPS keys and barriers

 

Die Lebensgeschichte von Eric Ries

Autor Lean Startup

Eric Ries wurde 1978 geboren. Er studierte Computer Science an der Yale University. Einer seiner Dozenten war Steve Blank, welcher auch als Urvater der Lean Start Up Bewegung angesehen wird. Er hatte einen großen Einfluss auf das Buch The Lean Start Up. 

Nach seinem Studium 2001, ging er ins Silicon Valley und startete bei der Firma There.com als Software Engineer. Das Unternehmen arbeitete an einem virtuellen 3D basierten Produkt, scheiterte jedoch sehr bald.  

Daraufhin stieg Eric in das Start Up IMVU als Mitgründer ein. Das Unternehmen hatte das Ziel einen Instant Messaging Dienst in Videospielen zu erschaffen. In diesem Unternehmen war auch sein alter Dozent Steve Blank investiert. Dieser forderte von allen IMVU Führungskräften seinen Kurs zu Unternehmertum zu absolvieren. Dort lernte Eric Blanks Methode des schnellen Kundenfeedbacks kennen. Diese Methode sollte die Grundsteine für das Buch Lean Start Up legen. 

Mithilfe von schnellen kleinen Tests schafften sie es sehr schnelle Learnings zu ziehen und das Produkt immer weiter zu optimieren. Innerhalb von 6 Monaten erstellten sie ein MVP. Daraufhin sammelten sie in zwei Finanzierungsrunden 19 Millionen US-Dollar ein. 

2008 trat Eric als CTO zurück, blieb aber als Berater in der Firma. Sechs Monate später begann er seinen nächsten Job als Risikoberater bei der Firma Kleiner Perkins. Während dieser Zeit fing er an Start Ups zu beraten. Durch seine Erfahrungen aus seinen vorherigen Jobs, seiner Ausbildung und der Beratertätigkeit entwickelte er den Lean Start Up Ansatz. Die Learnings und das System teilte er auf seinem Blog. Bis er schließlich im Jahr  2010/11 das Buch The Lean Start Up veröffentlichte. 

Daraufhin wurde er regelmäßig als Speaker und Dozent eingeladen und erhielt eine Stelle als Entrepreneur-in-Residence an der Harvard Business School. Während dieser Zeit beriet er junge und alte Unternehmen, wie sie den Lean Start Up Ansatz nutzen können. 

Er veröffentlichte in den nächsten Jahren noch zwei weitere Bücher. The Leaders Guide und The Start Up Way. Seit 2015 beschäftigt er sich größtenteils mit seinem Unternehmen der Long Term Stock Exchange. Eine nationale Wertpapierbörse, die Unternehmen und Investoren zusammenbringt, die langfristig in Visionen investieren wollen. Seit Ende 2020 ist es möglich in Unternehmen an dieser Börse zu investieren.

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar